CalChamber Women’s Leadership Council Kicks Off Effort to Support Women Leaders

On International Women’s Day, March 8, the California Chamber of Commerce launched the Women’s Leadership Council (WLC), a subcommittee of the CalChamber Board of Directors.

Among other activities, the WLC will work to enhance the profile and contributions of California women business leaders and establish strong ties between them and elected officials, government appointees and other key decision makers in state government.

Attendees at the first meeting of the Women’s Leadership Council on March 7 include: (Front row, from left) Cassandra Pye, Rashmi Menon, Julie Kreger King, Donna Lucas, Raji Brar, Sima Patel, Jessica Word, Ariel Roblin, Fiona Hutton, Monica Lal. (Back row, from left) Kerry Tullis Hattevik, Jason Carlson, Denise Davis, Kevin Tilden, Jennifer Barrera, Jennifer Haley, Sandra Floyd, Susan Corrales-Diaz, Jill Anderson, Kailesh Karavadra, Diane Miller.

The WLC is chaired by Donna L. Lucas, CEO and founder of Lucas Public Affairs. The vice chair is Raji K. Brar, chief operating officer and co-owner of Countryside Corporation.

Serving as council advisor is Cassandra Pye, president, Lucas Public Affairs.

“I’m both proud of and excited for this new subcommittee of the CalChamber Board,” said Lucas. “It recognizes that women leaders in the public and private sector continue to grow their influence and, together, we are making tremendous contributions that benefit California’s economy.”


Council members include:

  • Jill C. Anderson, executive vice president and chief operating officer, Southern California Edison;
  • Ted J. Balestreri, chairman and CEO, Cannery Row Company;
  • Daniel Brill, president, Anheuser-Busch Sales and Distribution Company;
  • Maryam S. Brown, president, Southern California Gas Company;
  • Jason Carlson, chief operating officer, Green Diamond Resource Company;
  • Susan Corrales-Diaz, president and CEO, Systems Integrated;
  • Anne Descalzo, co-founder, Clutch;
  • Sandra Floyd, president and CEO, OUTSOURCE Consulting Services, Inc.;
  • Jennifer M. Haley, president and CEO, Kern Energy;
  • Taylor Hathaway-Zepeda, partner, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP;
  • Kerry Tullis Hattevik, vice president, development, NextEra Energy Resources LLC;
  • Christopher S. Holben, president, Runyon Saltzman Inc.;
  • Fiona Hutton, founder and CEO, Fiona Hutton & Associates;
  • Kailesh Karavadra, partner, Ernst & Young LLP;
  • Julie Kreger King, Greater Northern California operations leader, Antea Group;
  • Monica Lal, president and CEO, Monterey Peninsula Chamber of Commerce;
  • Rashmi Menon, vice president and general manager, Burns & McDonnell Engineering Co., Inc.;
  • Diane D. Miller, president and CEO, Wilcox, Miller & Nelson;
  • Sima Patel, CEO, Ridgemont Hospitality;
  • Ariel Roblin, president and general manager, KCRA-TV;
  • Kevin Tilden, president, California American Water;
  • Jessica Word, CEO, Word & Brown General Agency;
  • Michelle Wroan, office managing partner, KPMG LLP.

CalChamber staff members on the council are Jennifer Barrera, president and CEO; Denise Davis, executive vice president, communications; and Nick Ortiz, vice president, small business advocacy.

For more information about the WLC, its members and related news, visit the WLC page on the CalChamber website at