Tuesday, November 29, 2022

Governor Signs New Paid Sick Leave Mandate into Law

Governor Gavin Newsom signed legislation on March 19 that mandates the addition of up to 80 hours of employer-paid COVID-19 sick leave retroactive to January 1, 2021. The new law applies to employees who work for a public or private employer with more than 25 employees.

Upon signing the legislation into law, Governor Newsom said, “Even as case rates and hospitalizations decline and vaccinations ramp up, we can’t let our guard down and must do all we can to stop this virus from spreading.”

The California Chamber of Commerce and a coalition of more than 110 allied groups strongly opposed the proposal. The coalition expressed concerns about costs on employers, administrative burdens, potential liability for unanticipated errors and claims under the Private Attorneys General Act (PAGA).

The new law goes into effect on March 29, 2021.

The most important thing employers need to be aware of regarding the new mandate is that this new bucket of 80 hours of leave is in addition to any leave an employee took in 2020 under the federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act or AB 1867 and there are new qualifying reasons the leave may be taken, including getting the COVID-19 vaccine and recovering from symptoms related to the vaccine.

The CalChamber presented additional compliance information about the new paid sick leave law through an HRWatchdog blog post this week. More compliance information will be available in an upcoming podcast and materials available on the CalChamber website and the COVID-19 resource page.

CalChamber
CalChamber
The California Chamber of Commerce is the largest, broad-based business advocate to government in California, working at the state and federal levels to influence government actions affecting all California business. As a not-for-profit, we leverage our front-line knowledge of laws and regulations to provide affordable and easy-to-use compliance products and services.

Related Articles

Cal/OSHA Considers Removing Exclusion Pay Mandate from New COVID Rule

As the California Division of Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) prepares to vote on the next iteration of California’s COVID-19 emergency regulation, one important change being considered is whether to extend California employers’ obligation...

COVID-19 Regulation: Cal/OSHA Makes Big Changes Ahead of December Vote

California employers may want to get out their measuring tape — because the size (in cubic feet) of a workspace just became an important element of COVID-19 compliance. Last Thursday and Friday (October 13–14), the...

CalChamber Calls for Changes to Nonemergency COVID Draft Rule

The Cal/OSHA Standards Board’s draft proposal to extend the state’s COVID-19 regulation for another two years — with some significant changes from the COVID-19 emergency regulation — still needs adjustments, the California Chamber of...