California District Export Council Representatives Gather at CalChamber

Appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce, the members of the four California District Export Councils (DECs)—NorCal, SoCal, Inland Empire and San Diego—met at the California Chamber of Commerce in Sacramento on May 31 to hear from Robert Brown, Esq., chair of the National DEC, and Tom McGinty, national director of the U.S. Commercial Service of the U.S. Department of Commerce. Current issues facing the trade community and the department were the focus of discussion. Following, the group attended other international trade-related events. Front Row (from left): The Honorable Jerry Levine, Consul General of Barbados/National DEC, Former Chair; Toby Levine, San Francisco Port Advisory; Cary Wanner, City National Bank/Inland Empire DEC, Chair; Don Sovie, Law Offices of Donald E. Sovie/Southern CA DEC, Chair; Robert Brown, Bingham Greenebaum Doll LLP/National DEC, Chair; Susanne Stirling, CalChamber/NorCal DEC and National DEC; Roy Paulson, Paulson Manufacturing Corp/Inland Empire and National DEC, Former Chair; Tom McGinty, National Director, U.S. Commercial Service, U.S. Department of Commerce; Deep SenGupta, DSG Global/NorCal DEC Chair and National DEC. Middle Row (from left): George Tastard, U.S. Department of Commerce; Julie Anne Hennessey, U.S. Department of Commerce; Jeremy Potash, California-Asia Business Council/NorCal DEC; Dean Fealk, DLA Piper/NorCal DEC; Teresa Cox, Techworkers/NorCal DEC; Jamal Qureshi, JQ American Corporation/NorCal DEC; David Fiscus, U.S. Department of Commerce; Rod Hirsch, U.S. Department of Commerce; Tony Hill, U.S. Department of Commerce. Back Row (from left): Richard Swanson, U.S. Department of Commerce; Glen Roberts, U.S. Department of Commerce; Greg Johnston, Dolby Laboratories/NorCal DEC; John McPeak, Biomarin/NorCal DEC; Nick Grooters, Super Glue Corp/Inland Empire DEC, Vice Chair; Everett Golden, Otis McAllister/NorCal DEC; Brooks Ohlson, Center for International Trade and Development/NorCal DEC; Sean Randolph, Bay Area Council/NorCal DEC; Jason Sproule, U.S. Department of Commerce; Matt Anderson, U.S. Department of Commerce.