CalChamber Stops Two More ‘Job Killers’ on Assembly Floor


Two “job killers” failed to move off the Assembly Floor on June 4, missing Friday’s deadline for bills to pass the house in which they were introduced.

Of 19 “job killer” bills identified by the California Chamber of Commerce to date, just 10 remain active.

Seven Senate “job killer” bills and three Assembly “job killer” bills remain alive. Two of the Senate bills and one Assembly bill still alive are tax measures and not subject to the house of origin deadline.

The following “job killer” bills failed to pass the Assembly by the house of origin deadline, June 5, and are likely dead for the year:

AB 356 (Williams; D-Carpinteria) Limits In-State Energy Development: Potentially shuts down certain in-state oil production operations by redefining critical components of the Underground Injection Control program which would, in turn, compromise oil production without providing any additional environmental and groundwater protections beyond those recently proposed by state regulators. Failed to pass the Assembly on a vote of 28-33; Failed deadline, 6/4/15.

AB 357 (Chiu; D-San Francisco) Predictable Scheduling Mandate/Protected Leave of Absence: Imposes an unfair, one-size-fits-all, two-week notice scheduling mandate on certain retail and food employers that penalizes these employers with “additional pay” for making changes to the schedule with less than two weeks notice, and additionally imposes a new, protected leave of absence from work for employees who are seeking public assistance. Assembly Floor Inactive File, 6/4/15.

Key Vote

AB 356 failed to pass the Assembly on June 4, 28-33:

Ayes: Atkins (D-San Diego), Bloom (D-Santa Monica), Bonta (D-Oakland), Burke (D-Inglewood), Campos (D-San Jose), Chau (D-Monterey Park), Chiu (D-San Francisco), Chu (D-San Jose), Dababneh (D-Encino), Dodd (D-Napa), Eggman (D-Stockton), Gatto (D-Glendale), Gomez (D-Los Angeles), Gordon (D-Menlo Park), Irwin (D-Thousand Oaks), Jones-Sawyer (D-South Los Angeles), Levine (D-San Rafael), Lopez (D-San Fernando), McCarty (D-Sacramento), Mullin (D-South San Francisco), Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks), Rendon (D-Lakewood), Santiago (D-Los Angeles), Mark Stone (D-Scotts Valley), Thurmond (D-Richmond), Ting (D-San Francisco), Williams (D-Carpinteria), Wood (D-Healdsburg).

Noes: Achadjian (R-San Luis Obispo), Travis Allen (R-Huntington Beach), Bigelow (R-O’Neals), Brough (R-Dana Point), Brown (D-San Bernardino), Chang (R-Diamond Bar), Chávez (R-Oceanside), Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), Daly (D-Anaheim), Frazier (D-Oakley), Beth Gaines (R-El Dorado Hills), Gallagher (R-Yuba City), Gray (D-Merced), Grove (R-Bakersfield), Harper (R-Huntington Beach), Kim (R-Fullerton), Lackey (R-Palmdale), Linder (R-Corona), Maienschein (R-San Diego), Mathis (R-Visalia), Mayes (R-Yucca Valley), Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore) Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake), Olsen (R-Modeston), Patterson (R-Fresno), Perea (D-Fresno), Quirk (D-Hayward), Ridley-Thomas (D-Los Angeles), Salas (D-Bakersfield), Steinorth (R-Rancho Cucamonga), Wagner (R-Irvine), Waldron (R-Escondido), Wilk (R-Santa Clarita).

Absent/abstaining/not voting: Alejo (D-Salinas), Baker (R-San Ramon), Bonilla (D-Concord), Calderon (D-Whittier), Cooper (D-Elk Grove), Dahle (R-Bieber), Cristina Garcia (D-Bell Gardens), Eduardo Garcia (D-Coachella), Gipson (D-Carson), Gonzalez (D-San Diego), Hadley (R-Torrance), Roger Hernández (D-West Covina), Holden (D-Pasadena), Jones (R-Santee), Low (D-Campbell), Medina (D-Riverside), O’Donnell (D-Long Beach), Rodriguez (D-Pomona), Weber (D-San Diego).

‘Job Killers’ Still Moving

SB 3 (Leno; D-San Francisco/ Leyva; D-Chino), automatic minimum wage increase.

SB 406 (Jackson; D-Santa Barbara), significant expansion of California Family Rights Act.

SB 350 (de León; D-Los Angeles), mandating 50% reduction in petroleum use, 50% of energy from renewable sources and increasing building energy efficiency by 50%.

SB 32 (Pavley; D-Agoura Hills), mandates further greenhouse gas emission reductions for 2030 and 2050.

SB 654 (de León; D-Los Angeles), creating unworkable hazardous waste permitting process.

AB 359 (Gonzalez; D-San Diego), costly employee retention mandate.

AB 465 (Roger Hernández; D-West Covina), precluding mandatory employment arbitration agreements. See story.

For more information on the 2015 “job killer” bills, visit