28 Local Chambers Receive Recognition for Advocacy, Helping Labor Law Compliance


The California Chamber of Commerce has named 28 local chambers of commerce to receive the President’s Circle award. The award, first presented in 2009, recognizes chambers for excellence in business advocacy and helping their members comply with California employment laws.

Eight of the chambers have received the award all seven years it has been presented.

The 2015 recipients of the President’s Circle award are as follows. Seven-year recipients are marked with an *:

• Greater Bakersfield Chamber*: Nicholas Ortiz, president/CEO;

• Brawley Chamber: Jason Zara, executive director;

• Camarillo Chamber: Gary Cushing, president/CEO;

• Catalina Island Chamber & Visitors Bureau: Jim Luttjohann, president/CEO;

• Chico Chamber: Katie Simmons, president/CEO;

• Greater Conejo Valley Chamber*: Jill Lederer, president/CEO;

• Corona Chamber: Bobby Spiegel, president/CEO;

• Culver City Chamber*: Steven Rose, president/CEO;

• El Centro Chamber & Visitors Bureau*: Darletta Willis, CEO;

• Fullerton Chamber: Theresa Harvey, president/CEO;

• Gilroy Chamber: Mark Turner, president/CEO;

• Lake Elsinore Valley Chamber: Kim Joseph Cousins, president/CEO;

• Lodi District Chamber: Pat Patrick, president/CEO;

• Long Beach Area Chamber*: Randy Gordon, president/CEO;

• Murrieta Chamber: Patrick Ellis, president/CEO;

• Oakdale Chamber: Mary Guardiola, CEO;

• Orange Chamber: Charla Lenarth, president/CEO;

• Oxnard Chamber: Nancy Lindholm, president/CEO;

• Palm Desert Area Chamber*: Katie Stice, vice president;

• Porterville Chamber: Stephanie Cortez, president/CEO;

• Greater Riverside Chambers*: Cindy Roth, president/CEO;

• Roseville Chamber: Wendy Gerig, CEO;

• San Jose Silicon Valley Chamber: Matthew Mahood, president/CEO;

• Simi Valley Chamber: Gioia Goodrum, president/CEO;

• Temecula Valley Chamber: Alice Sullivan, president/CEO;

• Torrance Area Chamber: Donna Duperron, president/CEO;

• Turlock Chamber*: Sharon Silva, president/CEO; and

• Victor Valley Chamber: Michele Spears, president/CEO.

Representatives from 16 of the 28 President’s Circle chambers receive their awards at the CalChamber Capitol Summit on May 27. Photo by Steve Yeater
Representatives from 16 of the 28 President’s Circle chambers receive their awards at the CalChamber Capitol Summit on May 27. Photo by Steve Yeater

President’s Circle award recipients published vote records of their state legislators on key business issues, generated letters to state elected officials on issues of interest to members and participated in the CalChamber compliance product resale program at an exemplary level.

Staff Contact: Cathy Mesch

Previous articleWater Association Exec Recaps State’s Experience in Managing Droughts
Next articleSalary Just One Part of California Requirements for Overtime Exemption
Cathy Mesch
Grassroots Coordinator Cathy Mesch was promoted to coordinate the CalChamber's grassroots advocacy program in December 2006. Her primary duty is to enhance the CalChamber grassroots network throughout the state, working closely with the public policy staff to secure business input as early as possible on priority issues. Mesch joined CalChamber in August 2005 as executive assistant in the public policy unit. She brought with her some 25 years of management experience supervising office, sales and marketing staffs and operational procedural programs in a variety of settings. She also served as director of marketing for the California Foreign Trade Zone at the Port of Sacramento. Mesch earned an M.B.A. from the American Institute of International Marketing in Arizona.