Erika Frank, CalChamber vice president of legal affairs and general counsel, gives a preview of the upcoming CalChamber webinar on the new paid sick leave law in a CalChamber video.
“California is now the second state in the nation to mandate paid sick leave for employees,” explains Erika Frank, CalChamber vice president of legal affairs and general counsel in a CalChamber Capitol Report video. “This law applies to most employers with relatively few exceptions.”
The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 requires employers to provide paid sick leave to any employee who has worked in California for 30 days, at an accrual rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked.
Employers are allowed to limit employees’ use of paid sick leave to 24 hours or three days in each year of employment.
The bill also contains a new posting requirement.
To avoid stiff fines and penalties for noncompliance, California employers need to understand the nuances of the new law before it goes into effect on July 1, 2015.
CalChamber’s webinar should be used to guide and evaluate policies and practices so businesses can properly implement paid sick leave and avoid missteps.
For more information or to register for the California’s New Paid Sick Leave webinar, call (800) 331-8877 or visit www.calchamberstore.com.
CalChamber preferred and executive members receive a 20% discount.