Assembly Names Committee Leaders

Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) announced her selection of committee chairs for the 2015–16 Regular Session.

She also named Democrats to serve on the Assembly Rules Committee.

Freshman legislators are marked with an asterisk (*) in the list below.

• Accountability and Administrative Review: Assemblymember Rudy Salas, Jr. (D-Bakersfield).

• Aging and Long-Term Care: Assemblymember Cheryl R. Brown (D-San Bernardino).

• Agriculture: Assemblymember Henry T. Perea (D-Fresno).

• Appropriations: Assemblymember Jimmy Gomez (D-Northeast Los Angeles).

• Arts, Entertainment, Sports, Tourism and Internet Media: Assemblymember Ian C. Calderon (D-Whittier).

• Banking and Finance: Assemblymember Matthew Dababneh (D-Encino).

• Budget: Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber (D-San Diego).

• Budget Subcommittee No. 1 on Health and Human Services: Assemblymember Tony Thurmond* (D-Richmond).

• Budget Subcommittee No. 2 on Education Finance: Assemblymember Kevin McCarty* (D-Sacramento).

• Budget Subcommittee No. 3 on Resources and Transportation: Assemblymember Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica).

• Budget Subcommittee No. 4 on State Administration: Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks).

• Budget Subcommittee No. 5 on Public Safety: Assemblymember Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer, Sr. (D-Los Angeles).

• Budget Subcommittee No. 6 on Budget Process, Oversight and Program Evaluation: Assemblymember Shirley N. Weber (D-San Diego).

• Business and Professions: Assemblymember Susan A. Bonilla (D-Concord).

• Education: Assemblymember Patrick O’Donnell* (D-Long Beach).

• Elections and Redistricting: Assemblymember Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (D-Culver City).

• Environmental Safety and Toxic Materials: Assemblymember Luis A. Alejo (D-Salinas).

• Governmental Organization: Assemblymember Adam C. Gray (D-Merced).

• Health: Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Oakland).

• Higher Education: Assemblymember Jose Medina (D-Riverside).

• Housing and Community Development: Assemblymember Ed Chau (D-Monterey Park).

• Human Services: Assemblymember Kansen Chu* (D-San Jose).

• Insurance: Assemblymember Tom Daly (D-Anaheim).

• Jobs, Economic Development, and the Economy: Assemblymember Eduardo Garcia* (D-Riverside).

• Judiciary: Assemblymember Mark Stone (D-Monterey Bay).

• Labor and Employment: Assemblymember Roger Hernández (D-West Covina).

• Local Government: Assemblymember Brian Maienschein (R-San Diego), chair; Assemblymember Lorena S. Gonzalez (D-San Diego), vice chair.

• Natural Resources: Assemblymember Das Williams (D-Carpinteria).

• Privacy and Consumer Protection: Assemblymember Mike Gatto (D-Glendale).

• Public Employees, Retirement and Social Security: Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Oakland).

• Public Safety: Assemblymember Bill Quirk (D-Hayward).

• Revenue and Taxation: Assemblymember Philip Y. Ting (D-San Francisco).

• Rules: Assemblymember Richard S. Gordon (D-Menlo Park), chair. Members: Assemblymembers Autumn R. Burke* (D-Inglewood), Nora Campos (D-San Jose), Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), Bill Dodd* (D-Napa), Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona), Jim Wood* (D-North Coast); Patty Lopez* (D-San Fernando), Democratic alternate.

• Transportation: Assemblymember Jim Frazier (D-Oakley).

• Utilities and Commerce: Assemblymember Anthony Rendon (D-Lakewood).

• Veterans Affairs: Assemblymember Jacqui Irwin* (D-Thousand Oaks).

• Water, Parks and Wildlife: Assemblymember Marc Levine (D-San Rafael).

• Joint Legislative Audit: Assemblymember Mike A. Gipson* (D-Carson).

• Joint Legislative Committee on Emergency Management: Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona).

• Legislative Ethics: Assemblymember Ken Cooley (D-Rancho Cordova), Co-Chair.

Full membership of the Assembly standing committees will be announced before the end of the year, according to the Assembly Speaker’s office.